20 C
New York
Thursday, June 13, 2024

Your Free Washington Construction News eletter

HomeAssociationsWBC recognizes 76b Craftsmanship Awards winners at its 67th annual awards banquet

WBC recognizes 76b Craftsmanship Awards winners at its 67th annual awards banquet

The Washington Building Congress (WBC) has honored two individuals within its Hall of Fame, and recognized 76 award winners in 10 categories from 231 nominations for its Craftsmanship Awards.

The recipients were acknowledged at the WBC’s 67th annual awards banquet on March 31.

More than 14,000 men and women have been individually honored over the past 66 years for their work on 3,500+ Craftsmanship Award winning entries, WBC says in a statement.

Chris Paktevich from Clark Foundations (sitework) and deceased Jeff Pawlak from Mona Electric Group were inducted into the Hall of fame, joining 44 other members.

The judges represented a broad cross-section of the construction industry, including architects, interior designers, general contractors, subcontractors, construction consultants, and engineers. All evaluations were compiled, results tallied, and 76 winning entries were identified based upon the judge’s scoring.

©David Galen, published with permission
©David Galen

Following selection of the award winners, a separate group of Star Awards judges representing different industry perspectives and disciplines evaluated the Star nominees. Star Award winning craftsmen encompass the key characteristics of all Craftsmanship Award winners and exhibit the highest level of focus on excellence. This year, nine remarkable entries were selected as Star Award nominees for demonstrating the highest level of quality and exceeding the awards criteria. From these, the Star Award winners for Visual Excellence, Technical Excellence and Excellence in the Face of Adversity were selected.

The Star Award for Excellence in the Face of Adversity was presented to Katey Corda, Maria Hardman, Geoffry Hemans, Brooke Russell, Nathan Silver and Mirta Vidal with EverGreene Architectural Arts for Painting and Wallcovering at National Air and Space Museum Revitalization project.

The Star Award for Technical Excellence was awarded to the team of Daniel Groht, Ryan Kroll, Ryan Kruckow, Justin Littleford, Michael Mosczczynski and Mark Scully with JE Richards for Power Generation, Distribution and Switchgear at Mets 6, 7, 8 project.

Finally, the Star Award for Visual Excellence was presented to Ricardo Acosta, Richard Bembe, Thu Bui, Jacob Burdette, Trung Ho and Freddy Lopez with Allegheny Millwork for Architectrual Millwork at the American Airlines Admirals Club, DCA Concouse E project.

Mark Buckshon
Mark Buckshonhttps://washingtonconstructionnews.com
Mark Buckshon is the publisher and interim editor of Washington Construction News. He is also president of the Construction News and Report Group of Companies. He combines a journalism and business background, and has published construction trade publications for more than 30 years, after an earlier career in journalism, which culminated when he lived through the transition from Rhodesia to Zimbabwe in 1978-80 as a sub-editor for the Bulawayo Chronicle and a correspondent for a Canadian news service.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Your Free Washington Construction News eletter

On request, we'll send you a free weekly news update from Washington Construction News. Of course you can cancel anytime.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments